When my brother was about three years old and things would get loud around the house (or Caleb just wanted someone to be quiet) he would say "Ahshhh". We really have no idea why, but it was like a whisper when he said it. Whenever I think of a quiet and still heart I think of three year old Caleb whispering "ahshhh". So often I find myself getting stressed, impatient, and not at all the biblical example of peace. I need to "Be still and know that He is God..". Rest in the fact that He is the one that carries the world, and I really do: nothing. It is so very comforting to remember how "un-incontroll" I am. How Someone so much much bigger than I am is in controll. 
I love this song (below) by Watermark.


The more I get alone 
The more I see I need to get alone more, more 
Cause just when I think that I'm alone 
Your Spirit calls out to me 
And even silence has a song 
Cause that's when you come 
Sing over me


Still, let me be still 
Let me be OK 
With the quiet in my heart 

Still, I want to be still 
I'm so quick to move 
Instead of listening to you 
Shut my mouth 
Crush my pride 
Give me the tears 
Of a broken life, 

Still

Still, let me be still 
And know that you are God 
And you are always enough 


Still, I want to be still 
To take all that I am 
And simply lift it up
Still, let me be still 
Let me be OK 
With the quiet in my heart 

Still, I want to be still 
I'm so quick to move 
Instead of listening to you 
I'm your child 
Tame my heart 
Obedience 
To me impart 
Still




Leave a Reply.