There are two major things that are happening in my life at the moment: Caleb and Dad are gone in Honduras and I am reading "Don't waste your life" by John Piper.

For the first. I really don't know much about what is going on over there, but I'm pretty possitive that they're in Honduras. :)  Caleb could tell you more about it. His blog is: lethondurasbeglad.wordpress.com , it is WELL worth it to check it out. With him, what you see is what you get, so if you read anything that is completely his heart.

I'm sure most of you have read the book Don't waste your life. It is one of John Piper's most popular books, but yet, I hadn't read it. Lately I have realized how very little I know of the things that I put my whole hope and trust in. God (completely Him) has put in me a desire to just soak it all in. To learn as much as I can. I decided to start with John Piper. He is one of the most brilliant teachers that lives today (He got all of his stuff from the great dead guys) . What could be more devistating than a completely and totally pointless and wasted life? Listen to what he says about the "wasted life".

"I will tell you what a tragedy is. I will show you how to waste your life. Consider this story from the February 1998 Reader's Digest: A couple 'took early retirement from their jobs in the Northeast five years ago when he was 59 and she was 51. Now they live in Punta Gorda, Florida, where they cruise on their 30-foot trawler, play softball and collect shells'  At first, when I read it I thought it might be a joke. Aspoof on the American Dream. But it wasn't. Tragically, this was the dream: Come to the end of your life--your one and only precious, God-given life--and let the last great work of your life, before you give an account to your Creator, be this: playing softball and collecting shells. Picture them before Christ at the great day of judgment: 'Look Lord. See my shells.' That is a tragedy."

And on the flip side:

"In April 2000, Ruby Eliason and Laura Edwards were killed in Cameroon, West Africa. Ruby was over eighty. Single all her life, she poured out for one great thing: to make Jesus Christ known among the unreached, the poor, and the sick. Laura was a widow, a medical doctor, pushing eighty years old, and serving at Ruby's side in Cameroon. The brakes failed, the car went over a cliff, and they were both killed instantly. I asked my congregation: Was that a tragedy? Two lives, driven by one great passion, namely, to be spent in unheralded service to the perishing poor for the glory of Jesus Christ--even two decades after most of their American counterparts had retired to throw away their lives on trifles. No, that is not a tragedy. That is a glory. These lives were not wasted. And these lives were not lost."



For those who have not read this book, it's fantastic, and I completely recommend it.

"Whoever loses his life for my sake and the gospel's will save it" Mark 8:35







Leave a Reply.