Now it being Christmas Eve, it seems rather odd and not quite appropriate to be talking about the disciple John.  But as I was having a quiet time this morning I could not stop thinking about that--'My Lord, make me like John'.  Obviously the one I aspire to be like most is Christ, but I do want to be like "the beloved".  (John 19:26; 20:2; 21:20)

There seemed to be a way in which John loved the Lord Jesus unlike the way the other disciples did.
I want to love Jesus in the way that he did. For as it says in the Scriptures that he was close to Jesus. Not close as in that he knew Him well, but that he was near Him. (John 13:23) It seems as if he (John) just desired to be with Jesus so much that he "leaned against" Him.

Another quality I would love to obtain from "the one that Jesus loved" is...well...maybe an example would explain it better than I ever could.  In John 13:21-27 he says "Lord is it I?" as apposed to Peter (Matt. 26:33; Mark 14:29; Luke 22:31-32) saying "Though they all fall away because of You, I will never fall away." Questioning himself, John was humble, but lifting himself up, Peter was proud.

My Father, turn me into someone who love You in such a way as Your disciple John. Lord let me be humble and meek. Always relying heavily on You and never on my own strength. Make my sole desire to bring You fame, honor, glory, and worship. For you deserve so so much more than I can offer but God I pray and long that You would use me for Your glorification.



Leave a Reply.