"Glory to God in the highest,
 and on earth peace among those with whom he is pleased!" Luke 2:14

As I spoke of in the previous post, I've had a myriad of things occupying my thoughts constantly. So here goes one of them. This can inevitably become a longer post than I anticipated because it is such an important topic and something that needs to occupy my thoughts constantly. But it also might be shorter than it needs to be, because I'm having trouble framing my thoughts about this. 
It is something that encompasses everything that happened, happens, and will happen. It is "the reason why". It is the glory of God.
Here is a song that kind of sums a lot of it up in relation to how I think I should be toward the glory of God. 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZHfv2ivUrM

The glory of God is such a complex theme. I cannot on my own in anyway define it. As I often do in these feelings of bewildered dumbness is lean on men that are older and much much wiser than I. In this case, once again, I found a fairly good answer on John Piper's blog http://www.desiringgod.org/ResourceLibrary/Sermons/ByDate/2006/1914_To_Him_Be_Glory_Forevermore/


I encourage you to do your own study on the glory of God. I'm sure one of the old dead theologians like Calvin, Luther, Augustine or (even though he's not immensely old) Tozer have something breathtakingly perfect to say on the matter. 


I believe this should be the passion of all who claim to follow Christ. I think it should be a mark of a believer to so value the glory of God that they would risk any and everything to protect it. Oh how much more He deserves than our feeble attempts to magnify Majesty. Oh how much more He deserves than me at my best. Oh much more He deserves than anything I can offer. 
So I look to Him for grace. I cannot, on my own give Him what He is due. 
Let me glorify Christ! Let "my one desire is to see the name of Jesus lifted high above all things" be my complete story. 
I pray it will be the same for you. 
love,
Lauren



Leave a Reply.