Picture

Why should we love?  Who can love? What is love?

"Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God. Anyone who does not love does not know God, because
 God is love. In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another." 1 Jn. 4:7-11
Picture
Over the past few years I've heard dear friends use the phrase "Love deep".  It wasn't until recently that it hit home.  Am I loving deeply?  I had to stop and think about it, and when I came to the answer, I didn't like what I saw.  It felt like a punch in the stomache.  After a hard answer, I had to once again ask myself another tough question, "Who am I really and truly actively loving?  In what circles do they run in?  How alike are they to me?  How popular are they?  What IS active love?  Deep active love?  How can I love deeply outside of my circles of life?  Should I be loving everyone deeply?  What does real legit Christian love look like?  How do I search for those to love?  Is there different levels of deep love?  What does God say about it?  How did He love (THE CROSS!)?  Those are the questions I've been quite convicted about.  Those are the questions that the Scriptures answer.  I pray this is something I will actively pursue and really grow in.  "Teach me Your way, O LORD, unite my heart to fear Your name".  Ever live and plead for me to seek Your will.  Abba! Father! Lead me to love.  


These are only a few of the wonderful wonderful portions of Scripture that I've found on how God wants us to love one another. 

Picture
9/12/2010 11:27:45 am

I LOVE YOUR BLOG! The posts below are awesome. Children are for sure, my favorite thing to think about, play with, and just see! What a blessing they are, and God has bless us with so many at church! How wonderful He is!

love you all!

-Madison

Reply
9/20/2010 11:40:13 pm

Thank so much for posting this! This has been on my heart too! As I told another sister in Christ just yesterday :

"Especially loving sinners. I have listened to so many new teachings on "why we don't do, what we don't do" that I hate the "sins" so much that I am condemning of those who commit them instead of loving and praying for them. I started looking up scripture on the subject and found this. 2 Peter 1:6-9 "And to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity. For if these things be in you, and abound, they make you that ye shall neither be barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But he that lacketh these things is blind, and cannot see afar off, and hath forgotten that he was purged from his old sins." If think I have forgotten that He has "purged" me from my old sin. That verse really hit home. Even though I am very aware of my "old sin" perhaps not enough to be forgiving of those who are (quote on quote) "more blind" than me." So, yes loving "deeply" the next step. I have felt so guilty for not seeing the people who truly are a "work in progress". Thank you so much for the scripture references. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.